Disabling Apple’s Photos App Auto-Launch When Connecting a Phone

Having applications intelligently auto-launch is only helpful if you plan to use the application for that function. Since most advanced photographers use Adobe Lightroom to import and manage their images, having an Apple application offer to import your images is redundant, and can cause multiple copies of images to be stored on your hard drive. Apple’s previous iPhoto app could be set to not auto-launch when your iPhone or iPad was attached to the computer through settings in iPhoto’s preferences. The new Photos app that has replaced iPhoto no longer lists that option, leaving photographers puzzled about how to eliminate this undesired auto-launch.

The answer lies with a seldom-mentioned Apple utility named Image Capture. Launch Image Capture from the Applications Folder (despite it’s Utility-like nature, its not in the Utilities subfolder), and look in the lower left corner.

Clicking on the tiny arrow at the bottom left will open up an option for deciding what application to trigger when your device is connected. Choosing “No Application” will solve the issue. You will need to do this for other phones and tablets you connect to your computer, on a per-device basis.

C. David Tobie

Advertisements

3 responses to “Disabling Apple’s Photos App Auto-Launch When Connecting a Phone

  1. Thanks David , once again you Saved me from Major Headaches with Images and an iPhone , which ………
    I am loving the iPhone 6 Image Quality and Ease of Use .
    Good Day

  2. Thank you for a great post! I could never figure this out myself and had been annoyed by Photos for days and days…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s