Color My World: A Quick Review of the First Four Months of this Blog

  • Its been a bit over four months since I started this blog, and I felt I should do a short review, before disappearing to Italy for a couple of weeks of photography, and the occasional workshop. Readership has been increasing; in that wobbly way that web stats move. And I keep hitting a new “most views” day every so often, typically in response to a key article on a new device and its color capabilities. First my analysis of the New iPad, then of the Canon 5D Mark lll, and most recently the Retina MacBook Pro.

Breadth of readership has been increasing as well. Whether that is because more people around the globe have had a chance to become familiar with my work, or because there is something innately more international about the Retina MBP is yet to be seen. But the recent day when a new record of over 4300 page views was reached was the beginning of a new era, where the US is not always my top readership country (at least not early in the day, when the Eastern Hemisphere has had a lot longer to be up and reading…).

The map of countries from which my blog has been accessed was long ago flushed out; at this point all that remains is for one or another of the remaining countries in Latin  America, Africa, or the depths of Asia to finally score a hit. Perhaps summer travel will fill in one or two  more of these. I’ll include a copy of the readership map below, though it doesn’t show much that the sentence above doesn’t cover, except for the visual aspect.

Its very gratifying to see the blog extend its reach and readership, and to watch the total page views roll past 60,000, and now 65,000. It will be interesting to see if the trend continues over the remainder of the first year, as WordPress assures me it will do. And it is interesting to see more and more sites in other languages linking to my English-only blog, and viewers coming to visit from them, even when they need to translate the page.

Thanks to all of you who have read my writings (and occasional ramblings), and especially to those who have subscribed through WordPress, through e-mail, and through Twitter, to receive announcements of each new blog post. And thanks to those who have commented, even those whose comments, on reflection, I have chosen not to publish. All input is information, even when the final decision is that its not sufficiently pertinent to append to the post. And thanks to all my associates in the industry who have commented, mostly privately, about the blog and web authoring in general.

CDTobie’s Photo Blog readership reach

Credits: C. David Tobie, Copyright 2012. Website: CDTobie.com Return to Blog’s Main Page

One response to “Color My World: A Quick Review of the First Four Months of this Blog

  1. I have noticed more frequent access from Iceland, now that Iceland Photographic Workshops is in session. Just as I see more hits from the United Arab Emirites when the photo workshops (and Bobbi Lane) are traveling through the Emirites.

Leave a Reply

